Training, the Japanese way.


DPP_2064

Originally uploaded by Ben Love

If by training, you mean staying up all night drinking, then yes, I trained a lot. Japan is an amazing place. I stayed in Osaka and ventured out to Kyoto and Nara in between meetings. It was a whirlwind 4 days with 8 hours total sleep. By the last night, I began to get the uncanny feeling that if I stayed any longer I would start living out the book Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Luckily I was able to skirt such a fate and came home in one piece. I don’t know when I’ll get the chance to ever go back, so I wanted to suck in every free minute, day, night, and the fuzzy bits in between. The Yen is roughly equivalent to the dollar in multiples of 100 (give or take a few), so figuring out whether I was handing over the correct bills was no problem. Except on the streets where I would just hand a vendor 1000 Yen for a beer and assume I got the right change back… was that Asahi really six bucks?

I really grew to appreciate the amenities in my hotel. The oscillating feature was key.

Leave a Reply

