Cool Book

A great book about cycling I read in my free time (free time, that’s funny) is “The Rider” by Tim Krabbé. At first, I almost stopped reading it because it seemed arrogant and kind of fumbly. But as I read more and got into the rhythm of his writing style (Jack Kerouac if he used a bike instead of hitch hiking, maybe?), I began to realize the true genius of what Krabbé had accomplished. The way it explores the mutant psyche and random thoughts that go through the mind in the middle of a race is almost too accurate in a couple places and while I know it’s all in my own head during a race, to read it described in text is an interesting experience. It made me wonder if it takes a special state of psychosis to be a good cyclist or if that is learned over time. hmmm…

Leave a Reply

